TRIO Educational Talent Search

TRIO Educational Talent Search (TRIO ETS), a federally funded U.S. Department of Education program, is designed to prepare and motivate low-income, first-generation college students for success in college. TRIO ETS participants in 6th-12th grade receive college, career and financial aid information, academic advising, and educational field trips in preparation for successful enrollment and graduation from post secondary institutions. American River College TRIO Educational Talent Search serves 1500 middle school and high school student in three neighboring school districts.

Center Joint Unified School District
Wilson C Riles Middle School
Center High School
Natomas Unified School District
Natomas High School
Natomas Middle School
San Juan Unified School District
Sylvan Middle School
Mesa Verde High School

Student Eligibility

As a federally funded program, TRIO Educational Talent Search participants must be U.S. citizens or Permanent Residents.

Two-thirds of students must meet federal low-income guidelines and be a first-generation college student.

The other 1/3 of students can be any student enrolled at a target school site.

Students must also demonstrate the potential to succeed in post-secondary education. 

Participants must submit an application for acceptance into the program.

FREE Student Services

Academic Advising
Secondary and Post-Secondary Course Advising.
Connections to Tutoring Resources
College Entrance Exam Preparation
College & Career Awareness
College Exploration Activities
Information on Majors and Careers
Assistance Completing College Applications
Information on Admissions, Financial Aid, College Enrollment Process and Educational Equity Programs (TRIO SSS, EOP)
College and Educational Campus Visits
Financial Aid Awareness
Assistance in Completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
Information on Scholarship Opportunities

TRIO Educational Talent Search Staff

Diana Garcia - Program Director 
GarciaD@arc.losrios.edu
Office: (916) 484-8054  

Jasmine Fackler-Zavala - Clerk I
Facklej@arc.losrios.edu
Office: (916) 484-8063  

Boun Moua - Center High School
MouaB@arc.losrios.edu
Office: (916) 339-4757

Molly Schuller - Center High School
SchullM@arc.losrios.edu

Claudia Gaona - Mesa Verde High School
GaonaC@arc.losrios.edu

Erick Garcia-Aldana - Natomas Middle School 
GarciaE2@arc.losrios.edu
Office: (916) 567-5540 

Karina Tinoco-Martinez - Natomas High School
TinocoK@arc.losrios.edu

Cesar Torres - Natomas Middle School
Office: (916) 567-5540

Zoua Thao - Natomas Middle School
ThaoZ@arc.losrios.edu

Stephanie Gomez - Sylvan Middle School
GomezS@arc.losrios.edu

Jose Escalante - Sylvan Middle School
EscalaJ@arc.lorios.edu

Alejandro Llamas Delgadillo - Wilson C. Riles Middle School
LlamasA@arc.losrios.edu

Contact

Dean: Dr. Joshua Moon Johnson
Director: Diana Garcia
 
Phone: (916) 484-8063

Email: ARCETS@arc.losrios.edu

Hours

Monday - Friday:
8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Location

ARC Main Campus: Student Center Building - The Hub